Supervisory Board: Sparring partners in dynamic times

Lifelong learning – this also applies to supervisory board members. The aim is to equip the Supervisory Board for its advisory and control function in the long term.

(f.l.t.r.): Birgit Kraft-Kinz - Chairwoman of Digital Hub Vienna // Sabine Aigner, Partner at Spencer Stuart International // Wolfgang Anzengruber - Member of the Supervisory Board of ASFINAG and Siemens // Christine Catasta - Member of the Supervisory Board (e.g. BIG, Austrian Airlines). Photo credit: KRAFTKINZ/LIEB.ICH Productions

Lifelong learning – this also applies to supervisory board members. In view of the highly dynamic and challenging market situation, experienced supervisory board members advocate constant further development of essential skills. The aim is to equip the Supervisory Board for its advisory and control function in the long term.

Companies are currently facing a multitude of crises and challenges: Digital and technological developments are progressing at a rapid pace, while geopolitical crises and conflicts are on the rise. The economy is cooling down and the consequences of inflation, interest rate hikes and trade barriers are making it more difficult for companies to manage their business. The overly complicated legal framework and excessive bureaucracy in the European Union also pose additional challenges in terms of efficiency, innovation and international competitiveness. This is not an easy situation for company management to master.

This changes the skills needed to lead through this dynamic. In this context, the Digital Hub Vienna association has now focused on the Supervisory Board: The aim is to strengthen companies in Austria and make them more resilient and future-proof. It is important to strengthen the Supervisory Board in this respect and to use it strategically to improve economic dynamics.

Market dynamics demand constant further development

Birgit Kraft-Kinz, founder of the Digital Hub Vienna association and CEO of KRAFTKINZ, in an interview: “Supervisory board members are key factors and play a decisive role in the success and stability of companies.” The basis for this: Measures to continuously develop the expertise and know-how of the Supervisory Board. In view of the challenges, a wealth of experience is no longer enough to shape the future.

Kraft-Kinz: “The risks and threats for companies are currently enormous. We therefore need qualified training and regular further training for supervisory board members, especially on increasingly essential topics such as sustainability, cybersecurity and EU regulations.” Sabine Aigner, Partner at the leadership consulting firm Spencer Stuart International, emphasizes in this context: “This is not about criticizing the present, but only about seriously discussing possibilities for improvement.”

Increasing demands on management in companies

“Our role as Supervisory Board members is to use the investments for the company in a forward-looking and strategically sound manner,” clarifies experienced Supervisory Board member Christine Catasta and advocates sustainable skills development: “Mandatory further training would be desirable. The selection of Supervisory Board members should be diverse – not only gender, but also professional and personal skills should be reviewed annually in a collective suitability matrix.”

This is already used in the banking sector and provides an overview of the professional composition and structure of a board. Catasta: “It takes a good mix of the special skills of individual members to be a competent sounding board for the leadership team in all matters.”

The former CEO of Verbund and Supervisory Board member, Wolfgang Anzengruber, also sees the demands on Supervisory Board members increasing significantly in the future. On the one hand, in supporting the ability to resist and react to volatile conditions and crises. In addition to effective risk management, he also emphasizes the importance of comprehensive opportunity management and gives an example: “The ecological transformation of the economy is urgently needed and can no longer be delayed.” He therefore advocates giving priority to these aspects in the selection of suitable supervisory board members.

Sabine Aiger goes one step further: “You need to constantly question whether a supervisory board can cover all the skills that are currently required and take action if this does not appear to be the case.” This means succession planning, rapid further training measures, the involvement of external consultants for tricky special issues – right up to the replacement of the board.

In this context, Anzengruber allows himself a side blow: “In my opinion, membership of interest groups such as social partners, political parties or NGOs should not be a determining quality criterion for a supervisory board.” He is much more in favor of a nomination procedure similar to the fit and proper test (examination of managing directors in the securities sector by the Financial Market Authority FMA).

Fair remuneration for liability and effort

Whereas in Austria there is a clear separation of the bodies, there is closer cooperation internationally: The Management Board and Supervisory Board are united in one body. Anzengruber also mentions remuneration in the interview: While he considers Austrian supervisory board members to be on an internationally comparable level in terms of expertise, “remuneration in Austria is significantly lower and usually not in an appropriate relationship to effort and responsibility.”

Furthermore, supervisory board members in the international area often have a team at their disposal for preparation. For Christine Catasta, these differences lead to challenges in the professional competence of domestic supervisory boards: “It is often difficult to approach experts from abroad, as the responsibility and liability of Supervisory Board members is not adequately honoured.”

Anzengruber concludes: “Supervisory board members should be seismographs of future developments. To achieve this, it is essential that they are fit for the future and really understand sustainability issues, keep themselves informed on an ongoing basis and provide sound support to top management.

Anja Herberth
Author: Anja Herberth

Kommentiere / Leave a reply

Verfasst von Anja Herberth

Aufsichtsrat: Sparring-PartnerInnen in dynamischen Zeiten

Lebenslanges Lernen – das gilt auch für AufsichtsrätInnen. Ziel ist es, den Aufsichtsrat für seine Beratungs- und Kontrollfunktion nachhaltig zu wappnen.

(v.l.n.r.): Birgit Kraft-Kinz – Gründerin KRAFTKINZ, Obfrau Digital Hub Vienna // Sabine Aigner, PartnerIn bei Spencer Stuart International // Wolfgang Anzengruber – Aufsichtsrat von ASFINAG und Siemens // Christine Catasta – Aufsichtsrätin (u.a. BIG, Austrian Airlines). Fotocredit: KRAFTKINZ/LIEB.ICH Productions

Lebenslanges Lernen – das gilt auch für AufsichtsrätInnen. Angesichts der hohen Dynamik und herausfordernden Lage am Markt plädieren erfahrene AufsichtsrätInnen für eine stete Weiterentwicklung in essentiellen Kompetenzen. Ziel ist es, den Aufsichtsrat für seine Beratungs- und Kontrollfunktion nachhaltig zu wappnen.

Unternehmen sehen sich aktuell mit einer Vielzahl an Krisen und Herausforderungen konfrontiert: Digitale und technologische Entwicklungen gehen mit einer hohen Dynamik voran, die geopolitischen Krisen und Konflikte nehmen zu. Die Konjunktur kühlt sich ab, die Folgen von Inflation, Zinserhöhungen und Handelsbarrieren erschweren das Steuern der Unternehmen. Der viel zu komplizierte Rechtsrahmen und die Überbürokratisierung in der Europäischen Union fordert zusätzlich in den Themen Effizienz, Innovation und internationaler Konkurrenzfähigkeit heraus. Keine einfache Situation, die es seitens der Unternehmensführung zu meistern gilt.

Dies verändert die Fähigkeiten, die notwendig sind, um durch diese Dynamik zu führen. Seitens des Vereins Digital Hub Vienna wurde in diesem Zusammenhang nun der Aufsichtsrat in den Fokus gestellt: Ziel sei es, die Unternehmen in Österreich zu stärken, sie resilienter und zukunftssicher zu machen. Es gelte, den Aufsichtsrat in dieser Hinsicht zu stärken und zur Verbesserung der Wirtschaftsdynamik strategisch einzusetzen.

Marktdynamik fordert stete Weiterentwicklung

Birgit Kraft-Kinz, Gründerin des Vereins Digital Hub Vienna und CEO von KRAFTKINZ, im Interview: „AufsichtsrätInnen sind Keyfaktoren und maßgeblich für den Erfolg und die Stabilität von Unternehmen mitverantwortlich.“ Basis dafür: Maßnahmen, um die Kompetenz und das Know-how des Aufsichtsrats stetig weiterzuentwickeln. Denn angesichts der Herausforderungen ist ein reicher Erfahrungsschatz nicht mehr ausreichend, um die Zukunft zu gestalten.

Kraft-Kinz: „Die Risken und Bedrohungen für Unternehmen sind aktuell enorm. Es braucht daher eine qualifizierte Aus- und regelmäßige Weiterbildung für AufsichtsrätInnen vor allem zu den immer essenzieller werdenden Themen wie Nachhaltigkeit, Cybersecurity und zu EU-Regulierungen.“ Sabine Aigner, Partnerin des Leadership Consultingunternehmen Spencer Stuart International, betont in diesem Zusammenhang: „Es geht hier nicht darum, Kritik an der Gegenwart zu üben, sondern einzig darum, Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten ernsthaft zu diskutieren.“

Anforderungen an die Steuerung in Unternehmen steigt

„Unsere Rolle als AufsichtsrätInnen ist es, die Investitionen für das Unternehmen zukunftsweisend und strategisch fundiert einzusetzen“, stellt die erfahrene Aufsichtsrätin Christine Catasta klar und plädiert für einen nachhaltigen Kompetenzaufbau: „Eine verpflichtende Fortbildung wäre wünschenswert. Die Auswahl der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder sollte divers sein – nicht nur das Geschlecht, sondern die fachliche und persönliche Kompetenz sollte jährlich in einer Collective Suitability Matrix überprüft werden.“

Diese wird bereits im Bankensektor eingesetzt und gibt einen Überblick über die fachliche Zusammensetzung und Struktur eines Gremiums. Catasta: „Es braucht einen guten Mix in den besonderen Fähigkeiten einzelner Mitglieder, um dem Leadership Team in allen Fragen ein kompetentes Sounding Board zu sein.“

Auch der ehemalige CEO des Verbund und Aufsichtsrat, Wolfgang Anzengruber, sieht die Anforderungen an AufsichtsrätInnen künftig deutlich größer werden. Zum einen in der Unterstützung der Widerstands- und Reaktionsfähigkeit hinsichtlich der volatilen Rahmenbedingungen und Krisen. Neben einem effektiven Risikomanagement betont er aber auch die Wichtigkeit eines umfassenden Chancenmanagements und gibt ein Beispiel: „Die ökologische Transformation der Wirtschaft ist dringend erforderlich und nicht mehr aufzuhalten.“ Er plädiert daher, diesen Aspekten in der Auswahl geeigneter AufsichtsrätInnen Vorrang zu geben.

Sabine Aiger geht noch einen Schritt weiter: „Es braucht ein laufendes Hinterfragen, ob man als Aufsichtsrat all jede Kompetenzen abbilden kann, die aktuell gefordert sind und ein Handeln, wenn das nicht gesichert scheint.“ Bedeutet: Succession Planning, rasche Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen, das Hinzuziehen externer Beratung bei heiklen Sonderfragen – bis hin zur Neubesetzung des Gremiums.

Anzengruber erlaubt sich in diesem Zusammenhang einen Seitenhieb: „Die Zugehörigkeit zu Interessensgruppen wie z.B. Sozialpartnern, politischen Parteien oder NGOs sollte meines Erachtens kein bestimmendes Qualitätskriterium eines Aufsichtsrats sein.“ Er plädiert viel eher für ein dem Fit & Proper-Test ähnelndes Nominierungsverfahren (Prüfung der GeschäftsführerInnen am Wertpapier-Sektor seitens der Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörde FMA).

Faire Honorierung für Haftung und Aufwand

Während in Österreich eine klare Trennung der Gremien vorhanden ist, besteht international eine engere Zusammenarbeit: Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat sind in einem Gremium vereint. Anzengruber führt im Interview auch die Honorierung ins Feld: Während er die österreichischen AufsichtsrätInnen punkto Kompetenz auf einem international vergleichbaren Niveau sieht, sei die „Vergütung in Österreich deutlich geringer und dem Aufwand und der Verantwortung meist nicht entsprechend.“

Weiters stünden AufsichtsrätInnen im internationalen Bereich oft ein Team für die Vorbereitung zur Verfügung. Diese Unterschiede führen für Christine Catasta zu Herausforderungen in der fachlich kompetenten Besetzung heimischer Aufsichtsräte: „Es ist daher oft schwierig, ExpertInnen aus dem Ausland anzusprechen, da die Verantwortung und die Haftung der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder nicht entsprechend honoriert werden.“

Anzengruber abschließend: „AufsichtsrätInnen sollten Seismographen der zukünftigen Entwicklung sein. Dafür ist es essentiell, dass diese zukunftsfit sind und Nachhaltigkeitsthemen wirklich verstehen, sich laufend informiert halten und das Topmanagement fundiert unterstützen.

 

Anja Herberth
Author: Anja Herberth

Kommentiere / Leave a reply

Verfasst von Anja Herberth