Transitional technology PV panels: the future belongs to smart tiles

Two generations of roofers pull together: Peter and Maximilian Koch on PV installations and why the industry is facing challenges.

Transitional technology PV panels: the future belongs to smart tiles

Peter and Maximilian Koch on broken roofs after PV installations, what comes after PV panels, how end consumers can recognize quality and why their industry is facing challenges.

Peter (left) & Maximilian Koch, Credits: Koch Dach

You are one of the few companies on the market that work in an interdisciplinary manner: As a roofing and tinsmith company, you also offer photovoltaic systems. How did this development come about?

Peter Koch: We have evolved from pure tinsmiths to building envelopes. We support these projects and develop them for private individuals or property management companies. Photovoltaic systems are interdisciplinary projects, but at the end of the day they can be divided up very easily: On the one hand, there is the electrical part, which is logically carried out by electricians. And then there is the installation on the roof, which is best done by a roofer or tinsmith. We have long-standing cooperation partners with whom we carry out these projects.

Maximilian Koch: You’re right – interdisciplinary collaboration is something new for the sectors. This involves communicating with other companies and planning and implementing projects together. Building these networks will become increasingly important in the future. The big challenge is managing the interfaces between the companies: Who is responsible for what, who plans and designs?

We invested an entire man-year in the further development of photovoltaics and looked at many technologies. This was a long process in which we looked at the entire market. Our technician has tinkered around and tried out a lot to build up expertise.

Speaking of expertise: You advertise with the claim “Photovoltaics without broken roofs” – why?

Peter Koch: There is a large number of old roofs in Vienna on which PV systems have been carelessly installed. This means, for example: You go onto functioning roofs during assembly, which then no longer work. As a surveyor, I see cases of 100-year-old roofs where each step caused damage of 500 – 800 euros. On average, it then takes 3-5 years before it starts to leak. Improper screw connections also cause major damage.

Maximilian Koch: You have to remember that these are complex systems that need to be integrated. These roof trusses are often converted inside, and the customer lives in this apartment during the construction period. No damage may occur here, but in reality there is a high probability that it will ultimately require renovation.

This leads us straight to the next question: many people are now starting to renovate their houses and apartments. How can end consumers choose the right companies? For example, recognizing quality?

Peter Koch: Quality is often not recognizable to the end consumer. We are recommended to others in around 95% of cases, so we have built up a great deal of trust in the private customer sector. So my advice is to find out from your circle of acquaintances who has done a good job.

The trend towards interdisciplinary work means that networks are becoming increasingly important. Get companies that think in networks and have built up good teams. I have my experts on hand, whom I trust and who have been working with us for many years.

Why are interdisciplinary networks becoming increasingly important? What developments do you expect in your sector?

Maximilian Koch: We have many topics, but the next big thing will simply be photovoltaics. There will no longer be a roof without photovoltaics – or rather: we simply cannot afford to renovate roofs without integrating photovoltaics. The question is rather, do I save for another year or two and wait until I have better financing options, for example, and then renovate it with photovoltaics.

Peter Koch: Over the next 5 to 10 years, our industry will develop to such an extent that the rooftop systems that we currently install will gradually disappear as a transitional technology or at least decline sharply. We think these systems will be replaced by systems integrated into the brick. We therefore recommend that customers wait a few more years before simply renovating or laying a new roof.

We also see that the future will not necessarily belong to today’s manufacturers. There are now very innovative tiles that combine photovoltaics and heat, for example. These use not only the light, but also the heat from the air in the sub-roof. These are highly interesting systems, and Germany is at the forefront of innovation here. In Styria, on the other hand, there is a solar manufacturer that produces special panels in any format and in many colors. The architects rave about it.

These systems are coming. I assume that we will earn at least 50%, if not two thirds, of our turnover from photovoltaics in the next 5 to 10 years.

The expansion of photovoltaics will not be possible without storage in view of the still insufficiently developed electricity grids. Do you also offer these systems?

Peter Koch: Yes, we also offer combinations with storage units. The aim must be to use as much self-produced electricity as possible. For me, the photovoltaic system is the biggest social project of the last 200 years. This is truly democratization, because we become energy producers and can also use our own production. But far too few people are still doing this today. Today it is often the case that they sell all their electricity to the energy supplier and buy back their electricity requirements at a high price. That makes no sense.

We have a large 75 kWp system at our company and consume a large part of it ourselves with our workshop, office and electric fleet. As we produce the electricity ourselves, we don’t pay any grid fees for it. They are horrendously expensive – and will become even more expensive due to the necessary expansion. This also reduces the load on the grid.

We will not be able to avoid home automation, which would also allow households to benefit from flexible electricity tariffs. Currently, many end consumers pay a fixed price and cannot benefit from the favorable offers. For example, when the sun shines at midday and a lot of electricity is produced by photovoltaic systems.

Sounds like a lot of innovation for what is basically a rather traditional construction industry.

Peter Koch: The question is whether I look at the picture in the rear-view mirror or turn the mirror around and say: We’re going forwards. In the construction industry, a lot of people drive with a rear-view mirror. It is really difficult to introduce innovation here. I estimate that around half of the craft businesses in our sector will close. Because they cannot find skilled workers to continue running the company. There are currently so many businesses without a successor – I’m lucky, that’s not the case here with Maximilian.

Maximilian Koch: The comparison with the rear-view mirror is very apt. What is often written on the rear-view mirrors? Things in the rear-view mirror could be larger than they actually appear. And that simply fits for photovoltaics and for all the topics that are coming our way. In reality, even if you see them far behind you in the rear-view mirror, they are already there.

Innovation and handing over to the next generation is very difficult, especially in companies with a long tradition. Many companies no longer want to take the risk of investing. The entrepreneur is already in his 50s and would have to adapt to completely new technologies and new specialist areas. Many entrepreneurs are no longer interested in this. On the other hand, you also have to understand my generation: They don’t want to be involved in the further development of these outdated companies.

To stay on topic: How do you organize the transition from the old to the new generation in the company?

Peter Koch: I tend to be forward-thinking, but even my mindset is old compared to Maximilian’s ideas. This is a development process. Even if you were totally innovative when you were young and you don’t have anyone to push you – to put it nicely – it won’t work. This intergenerational story is extremely difficult in the skilled trades. Larger companies will probably find it easier to bring in external consultants.

Maximilian Koch: Mindset plays a very important role here. I like to think and work in an interdisciplinary way. I think it’s important that you enjoy it.

We have regular meetings and seminars with our change manager. I like to call it couples therapy. In fact, we were only talking about the company, but you work in the family business with your father. It is familiar, but also a company.

Thank you very much for the interview!

One company, two generations: Father Peter Koch and son Maximilian Koch make up the management of Koch Dach in Vienna. More about this company at
https://www.koch-dach.at
or on a tour of their Show Roof, which showcases the latest PV and roof technologies.

Anja Herberth
Author: Anja Herberth

Kommentiere / Leave a reply

Verfasst von Anja Herberth

Übergangstechnologie PV-Paneele: Die Zukunft gehört den smarten Ziegeln

Zwei Dachdecker-Generationen ziehen an einem Strang: Peter und Maximilian Koch über PV-Installationen und warum die Branche auf Herausforderungen zugeht.

Übergangstechnologie PV-Paneele: Die Zukunft gehört den smarten Ziegeln

Peter und Maximilian Koch über kaputte Dächer nach PV-Installationen, was nach den PV-Paneelen kommt, wie man als EndkonsumentIn Qualität erkennt und warum seine Branche auf Herausforderungen zugeht.

Peter (li.) & Maximilian Koch, Credits: Koch Dach

Sie sind eines der wenigen Unternehmen am Markt, die fachübergreifend arbeiten: Sie bieten als Dachdecker- und Spenglerbetrieb auch Photovoltaik-Anlagen an. Wie kam es zu dieser Entwicklung?

Peter Koch: Wir haben uns vom reinen Spengler zur Gebäudehülle weiterentwickelt. Wir tragen diese Projekte und entwickeln sie, für Private oder auch Hausverwaltungen. Photovoltaik-Anlagen sind fachübergreifende Projekte, aber im Endeffekt sind diese ja sehr gut aufteilbar: Es gibt einerseits den elektrischen Part, den logischerweise ElektrikerInnen übernehmen. Und dann gibt es die Montage am Dach, die sinnvollerweise ein Dachdecker oder Spengler übernimmt. Wir haben langjährige Kooperationspartner an der Hand, mit denen wir diese Projekte durchführen.

Maximilian Koch: Sie haben recht – die fachübergreifende Zusammenarbeit ist etwas Neues für die Branchen. Hier gilt es, mit anderen Unternehmen zu kommunizieren und gemeinsam Projekte zu planen und umzusetzen. Diese Netzwerke zu bilden wird in Zukunft immer wichtiger werden. Die große Herausforderung ist das Management der Schnittstellen zwischen den Unternehmen: Also wer ist wofür verantwortlich, wer plant und konzipiert?

Wir haben ein komplettes Mannjahr in die Weiterentwicklung in Richtung Photovoltaik investiert, haben uns viele Technologien angesehen. Das war ein langer Prozess, in dem wir uns den gesamten Markt angesehen haben. Unser Techniker hat getüftelt und viel ausprobiert, um Kompetenz aufzubauen.

Apropos Kompetenz: Sie werben mit dem Claim „Photovoltaik ohne kaputte Dächer“ – warum?

Peter Koch: Es gibt in Wien einen hohen Bestand an alten Dächern, auf dem sorglos PV-Anlagen installiert wurden. Heißt beispielsweise: Man geht in der Montage auf funktionierende Dächer, die dann nicht mehr funktionieren. Ich sehe als Gutachter Fälle von 100 Jahre alten Dächern, auf denen jeder Schritt einen Schaden von 500 – 800 Euro verursachte. Im Schnitt dauert es dann 3-5 Jahre, bis es dann undicht wird. Große Schäden verursachen auch unsachgemäße Verschraubungen.

Maximilian Koch: Man darf nicht vergessen, es sind komplexe Systeme, die integriert werden müssen. So sind diese Dachstühle oft innen ausgebaut, während der Bauzeit wohnt der Kunde in dieser Wohnung. Hier dürfen keine Schäden entstehen, aber in Wirklichkeit ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit hoch, dass es dann im Endeffekt eine Sanierung braucht.

Das führt uns gleich zur nächsten Frage: Viele Menschen beginnen nun, ihre Häuser und Wohnungen zu sanieren. Wie können EndkonsumentInnen die passenden Unternehmen auswählen. Also beispielsweise Qualität erkennen?

Peter Koch: Qualität ist für EndkonsumentInnen oft nicht erkennbar. Wir werden in etwa 95% der Fälle weiterempfohlen, so haben wir uns im Privatkundenbereich großes Vertrauen aufgebaut. Mein Rat daher: Erkundigen Sie sich in ihrem Bekanntenkreis, wer gut gearbeitet hat.

Durch die Entwicklung zu fachübergreifender Arbeit werden Netzwerke immer wichtiger. Holen sie sich Unternehmen, die in Netzwerken denken und die gute Teams aufgebaut haben. Ich habe meine ExpertInnen an der Hand, denen ich vertraue und die seit vielen Jahren mit uns arbeiten.

Warum werden fachübergreifende Netzwerke immer wichtiger? Welche Entwicklungen erwarten Sie in Ihrem Sektor?

Maximilian Koch: Wir haben viele Themen, aber the next big thing wird einfach die Photovoltaik sein. Es wird kein Dach mehr ohne Photovoltaik geben – oder besser gesagt: Wir können es uns einfach nicht leisten, Dächer zu sanieren, ohne Photovoltaik zu integrieren. Die Frage ist eher, spare ich noch ein oder zwei Jahre und warte, bis ich zum Beispiel bessere Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten habe, um es dann mit Photovoltaik zu sanieren.

Peter Koch: Unsere Branche wird sich in den nächsten 5 bis 10 Jahren so weit entwickeln, dass die Aufdachanlagen, die wir derzeit montieren, sukzessive als Übergangstechnologie verschwinden werden oder zumindest stark zurückgehen. Wir denken, diese Systeme werden durch in den Ziegel integrierte Anlagen ersetzt werden. Bevor Kunden einfach nur ein Dach sanieren oder neu verlegen wollen, empfehlen wir daher, lieber noch ein paar Jahre zu warten.

Wir sehen auch, dass die Zukunft nicht unbedingt den heutigen Herstellern gehören wird. Es gibt mittlerweile sehr innovative Ziegeln, die zum Beispiel Photovoltaik und Wärme kombinieren. Diese nutzen nicht nur das Licht, sondern auch die Wärme aus der Luft im Unterdach. Das sind hochinteressante Systeme, Deutschland ist hier in der Innovation ganz vorne dabei. In der Steiermark wiederum gibt es einen Solar-Hersteller, der Sonderplatten in jedem Format und in vielen Farben herstellt. Die ArchitektInnen schwärmen dafür.

Diese Systeme werden kommen. Ich gehe davon aus, dass wir unseren Umsatz in den nächsten 5 bis 10 Jahren zu mindestens 50%, wenn nicht sogar zu zwei Drittel mit Photovoltaik verdienen.

Der Ausbau der Photovoltaik wird angesichts der noch nicht ausreichend ausgebauten Stromnetze nicht ohne Speicher gehen. Bieten sie diese Systeme auch an?

Peter Koch: Ja, wir bieten auch Kombinationen mit Speichern an. Das Ziel muss ja sein, so viel selbst produzierten Strom wie nur möglich auch selbst zu verwenden. Die Photovoltaikanlage ist für mich das größte Sozialprojekt der letzten 200 Jahre. Das ist wirklich Demokratisierung, denn wir werden zu Energieproduzenten und können unsere Eigenproduktion auch selbst verwenden. Nur machen das heute noch viel zu wenige. Heute ist es oft so, dass sie den Strom gesamt an den Energieversorger verkaufen und ihren Strom-Bedarf teuer wieder einkaufen. Das macht so keinen Sinn.

Wir haben bei uns im Unternehmen eine große 75 kWp-Anlage und verbrauchen mit Werkstatt, Büro und unserer E-Flotte einen Großteil selbst. Da wir den Strom selbst produziert haben, zahlen wir auch keine Netzgebühren dafür. Die sind ja horrend teuer – und werden auf Grund des notwendigen Ausbaus noch teurer werden. Dadurch entlasten wir auch das Netz.

Wir werden auch an einer Hausautomation nicht herumkommen, dadurch könnten Haushalte auch von flexiblen Stromtarifen profitieren. Aktuell zahlen viele EndkonsumentInnen einen fixen Preis und können von den günstigen Angeboten nicht profitieren. Etwa wenn zu Mittag die Sonne scheint und viel Strom über Photovoltaik-Anlagen produziert wird.

Hört sich nach viel Innovation für eine im Grunde eher traditionelle Baubranche an.

Peter Koch: Die Frage ist, ob ich das Bild eher in den Rückspiegel betrachte oder den Spiegel umdrehe und sage: Wir fahren nach vorne. In der Baubranche, da fahren sehr viele mit dem Rückspiegel. Es ist wirklich schwierig, hier Innovation hineinzubringen. Ich schätze, dass etwa die Hälfte der Handwerksbetriebe in unserer Branche zusperren werden. Weil sie keine Fachkräfte finden, die das Unternehmen weiterführen. Es gibt aktuell so viele Betriebe ohne NachfolgerIn – ich habe Glück, das ist mit Maximilian bei uns nicht der Fall.

Maximilian Koch: Der Vergleich mit dem Rückspiegel ist sehr treffend. Was steht auf den Rückspiegeln oft? Dinge im Rückspiegel könnten größer sein, als sie tatsächlich erscheinen. Und das passt einfach für die Photovoltaik und für all die Themen, die auf uns zurollen. In Wirklichkeit sind sie, auch wenn du sie im Rückspiegel weit hinter dir siehst, schon da.

Gerade in Unternehmen mit viel Tradition ist Innovation und die Übergabe an die nächste Generation sehr schwierig. Oft tun sich viele Betriebe das Risiko der Investition nicht mehr an. Da ist der Unternehmer bereits in den 50ern, und er müsste sich auf komplett neue Technologien, auf neue Fachgebiete einstellen. Das interessiert viele Unternehmer nicht mehr. Auf deren anderen Seite muss man aber auch meine Generation verstehen: Sie tut sich die Weiterentwicklung dieser veralteten Unternehmen nicht an.

Um beim Thema zu bleiben: Wie gestalten Sie im Unternehmen den Übergang von der alten hin zur neuen Generation?

Peter Koch: Ich bin ja eher vorwärtsgewandt, aber selbst in meinem Mindset bin ich alt gegenüber den Ideen von Maximilian. Das ist ein Entwicklungsprozess. Auch wenn du in jungen Jahren total innovativ warst, und du hast niemanden, der dich – nett formuliert – antreibt, dann wird es nicht funktionieren. Diese generationsübergreifende Geschichte ist im Handwerk extrem schwierig. Größere Firmen werden sich vermutlich leichter tun, weil sie sich externe BeraterInnen hineinholen.

Maximilian Koch: Hier spielt sehr stark das Mindset mit. Ich mag es, fachübergreifend zu denken und zu arbeiten. Ich denke es ist wichtig, dass es dir Spaß macht.

Wir haben regelmäßig Meeting und Seminare mit unserem Change Manager. Ich nenne das gerne Paartherapie. Im Erst: Wir haben in Wirklichkeit nur über das Unternehmen gesprochen, aber du arbeitest im Familienunternehmen mit deinem Vater. Es ist familiär, aber auch wieder ein Unternehmen.

Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!

Ein Unternehmen, zwei Generationen: Vater Peter Koch und Sohn Maximilian Koch bilden das Management des Unternehmens Koch Dach in Wien. Mehr zu diesem Unternehmen unter https://www.koch-dach.at oder bei einer Besichtigung ihres Show Roofs, das die neuesten PV- und Dach-Technologien zeigt.

Anja Herberth
Author: Anja Herberth

Kommentiere / Leave a reply

Verfasst von Anja Herberth